11 elected to American Academy

first_imgSome of the world’s most accomplished leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.Those elected from Harvard this year are:David Matthew Altshuler, professor of genetics and professor of medicineXandra Owens Breakefield, professor of neurologyPaul Arthur Buttenwieser, clinical instructor in psychiatryDavid Winslow Latham, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory astrophysicist and lecturerSara Lawrence-Lightfoot, Emily Hargroves Fisher Professor of EducationJoseph Loscalzo, Hersey Professor of the Theory and Practice of Physic and chair of the Department of MedicineJohn Francis Manning, Bruce Bromley Professor of LawRichard J. Murnane, Juliana W. and William Foss Thompson Professor of Education and SocietyCharles Alexander Nelson III, professor of neurology, psychology, and pediatricsWilliam James Poorvu, Class of 1961 Adjunct Professor in Entrepreneurship EmeritusXiaowei Zhuang, professor of chemistry and chemical biology and professor of physicsOne of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts, and education.“Election to the Academy honors individual accomplishment and calls upon members to serve the public good,” said American Academy President Leslie C. Berlowitz. “We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day.”For a full list of new members.last_img read more